Wk1 – Art Experience – Plaster Casting

Plaster Casting Fun at the Beach

Today, I went to Huntington Beach to reserve fire pits for 200 dollars. While I was at the beach, I decided to work on my art activity of plaster casting. First, I started laid out all of the materials I needed to make my mold: plaster, water, and a shovel.

IMG_1178

Then I proceeded to dig a hole with the help of my friends and the shovel. After digging a hole that we thought was deep enough, I put my left foot in and my friends filled the hole back up with wet sand. I shaped the wet sand to match my foot and slowly pulled it out, leaving a large indentation in the sand. Then I put the plaster into a bucket and poured water to turn it into a thick liquid.

IMG_1179

After pouring the liquid into the hole, I waited for about 2 hours.

IMG_1180

While taking a nap, my friend actually dug out the mold for me and when I woke up, I noticed it standing on the sand next to me.

IMG_1185

This was my first time ever making a plaster mold and I have to say that it was quite a fun experience. Even though I didn’t know what I was doing at some points, I feel like the mold of my foot came out pretty well, and I happen to think that it is a pretty good looking foot. Although I could have been more creative and used other things to make molds, I think it ended up being okay. I don’t think it would end up in an art gallery or museum anywhere, but I am proud of what I accomplished today with plaster casting. In the future, if I were ever to do this again, I think that I would dig a bigger hole and try to be more creative in what I use to make a mold.

IMG_1191

Leave a Reply

