Wk5-Art Experience-Painting

This weeks activity was to spray paint your name at any location on any surface that was legal. I could not go anywhere to do this, so I just used a piece of cardboard and spray painted my name in my backyard. First, I cut open a box and laid it flat on the concrete with some newspaper spread around. Then I used blue tape to outline the letters of my name on the cardboard. After that, I grabbed my two bottles of spray paint. I used a kind of metallic brown along with green to spray paint. After I was done with all of my letters, I went around the borders using the cans to try and add more color to the cardboard. I waited for about twenty minutes for the spray paint to dry and then I went back out. I pulled off all of the tape with the help of my dad and this is what it looked like.

img_1317

Graffiti and spray painting has always been very interesting and intriguing to me. Personally, I enjoy listening to hip hop and the culture behind it a lot, so this activity was one that I was genuinely excited for. I was not disappointed either, as this activity turned out to be very fun for me. It was nice to just kick back and chill while doing this and I am quite happy with the way it all ended up. I did not do the bubble letters, so I do not really know if this is considered graffiti, but I enjoyed the process nonetheless. Looking back as I write this though, I kind of regret not trying the bubble letters. In the future, however, I would definitely love to try spray painting free hand and without any markers or blue tape. I would also love to go do it somewhere outdoors, to a place that is legal of course. Overall, I still enjoyed this activity a lot and it is probably my favorite and best art experience so far.

img_1347

Leave a Reply

