Wk15-Artist Conversation-Sam Mederios

Exhibition Information

Artist: Sam Mederios

Gallery: Marilyn Werby Gallery

Exhibition: N/A

Media: Sculpture

Website: None

Instagram: onetruesam

About the Artist

This weeks artist conversation will be a little bit different as there was a holiday art sale going on instead of viewing our usual galleries. However, I was still able to talk to artist Sam Mederios for a bit. Sam is currently a senior at the California State University of Long Beach. Sam is a Sculpture major in CSULB’s School of Arts, and he plans on graduating from the school next semester.

Formal Analysis

In this gallery, there were a lot of different items and paintings throughout the room. There were a lot of sculpture type pieces, along with wooden crafts and other miscellaneous items. Sam’s art work was a chess board with all of its pieces. He made the chess box out of wood, resin, and acrylic. This chess box was very impressive to look at, and it looked like he put a lot of time and effort into it. The actual board had a brownish color, and it opened up like a drawer. One set of the chess pieces was black, while the other was a gray color. This was probably the first item that I noticed when I walked into the gallery, and it was probably the last thing I looked at as well.

Content Analysis

Sam said that the whole chess board along with the pieces took him around ten days to make. All of the pieces and along with the board were very detailed, so it took him a while to fully craft his work. Sam wanted to make something that would show his abilities with wood, and a chess set was truly able to show his full potential. In my opinion, the chess set was the best piece in there, and although I would not buy it, I’m sure a lot of people can appreciate the hard work he put into it.

My Experience

This whole gallery was a new experience for me, as I have never seen an art sale at CSULB. I thought that it was pretty cool and it was really interesting to see all of the different works that people have made. Personally, I would not buy anything as I am a poor college student, but being able to appreciate the art work is enough for me. Sam’s art piece in general was probably my favorite work that I saw throughout all of the galleries. They all had some really nice work, but the chess piece was just so clean and detailed that it won my eyes. The woodwork was really beautiful and if I was rich enough, I may have even bought Sam’s chess set.

Some art pieces from the gallery, with Sam’s chess set.

 

Leave a Reply

